Duke of Edinburgh Award

KES MTB Club



School MTB Club 

Open to all Upper School students, the KES MTB Club will meet on alternate Tuesdays 1600-1700hrs focusing on MTB maintenance and repairs. The club will have organised rides each month (Sundays) and a residential trip each term. Explore the great outdoors on two wheels with some challenging climbs and exhilarating descents!

IV / V / VI Year Students should download and return (fully completed) to the DofE Office by Tuesday 2nd October 2018.

You Tube - British Cycling Advice Videos

DateSession SubjectTime / Location
Tuesday 2nd October 18Intro & Bike Checks / M Check / Trail Etiquette / Trail Grades / What to Carry1605-1700hrs
Tuesday 6th November 18Punctures / Tyre & Tube Checks1605-1700hrs
Tuesday 20th November 18Club Jersey design1605-1700hrs
Tuesday 4th December 18Club Jersey follow up / Chain breaking / Cleaning / Repairs1605-1700hrs
Tuesday 15th January 19POSTPONED SEE BELOW1605-1700hrs
Friday 18th January 19Indexing gears / Brake pad wear and replacement / Jersey Design
1315-1400hrs
Tuesday 29th January 19Suspension1605-1700hrs
Tuesday 19th March 19tbc1605-1700hrs

Mountain Biking (Cross Country & Trails)

DateMeeting PointType of RideRemarks
Sunday 7th October 2018New Forest - FrithamCross-Country - Forest track0900-1400hrs
Sunday 18th November 2018CANCELLEDDUE TO PROXIMITY OF RESIDENTIAL
Sunday 9th December 2018Swinley ForestTrail Centre0830 at KES

Return 1500

Sunday 27th January 2019Swinley ForestTrail Centre0830 at KES
Return 1500

KES MTB Club RESIDENTIAL TRIPS / DofE Expeditions

DateLocation & ActivityTimes

AUTUMN RESIDENTIAL

Fri 9 - Sun 11 November 2018

DARTMOOR

Saturday - Dartmoor X Country ride

Sunday - Haldon Forest Trail Centre

Accommodation at Rural Study Centre

Depart KES 1330hrs Friday
Return to KES 1800hrs Sunday
SPRING RESIDENTIAL

Fri 22 - Sun 24 March 2019

TBC

Saturday - TBC
Sunday - TBC

Accommodation - TBC

Depart KES 1330hrs Friday
Return to KES 1900hrs Sunday
SUMMER RESIDENTIAL

(ENDEAVOUR)

Wed 3 - Sat 6 July 2019

TBC

Thursday - TBC
Friday - TBC
Saturday - TBC 
Depart KES 1330hrs Wednesday

Return to KES 1900hrs Saturday

Skills Lessons

Part Names of a normal MTB (Open in new tab for better view)