Events

Sixth Form Virtual Information Evening

The Sixth Form Virtual Information Evening took place on Thursday 22 October 2020.

Fifth Year (Year 11) pupils both currently at King Edward’s and those considering joining KES for the Sixth Form were invited to attend. Subject talks by Heads of Department for all of the subjects that we offer at A Level were held throughout the evening. 

The talks consisted of a short presentation and then an opportunity to ask questions. If you didn't attend the evening, or would like to ask additional questions, then please contact the relevant Head of Department who will then arrange to talk to you at a later date.

Below is a series of information videos given by Mr Parker, Head, Mr Culver, Director of Sixth Form, Mrs Millar, Deputy Director of Sixth Form, Mrs Searles and Mr Havers, Heads of Year, Ms King, the General Studies Co-ordinator and current Sixth Form students...

Below is a short presentation with the available subjects, key dates, and a look at a typical sixth form timetable...

King Edward's 360 Tour 

Visit the King Edward VI School campus, with our virtual 360 tour. Take a look around the Sixth Form concourse, classrooms, the gym and more by clicking on the image below.

Hear From Our Head of School

We sat down with our Head of School, Annoushka, to find out about her experience studying A Levels at KES. You can read the full interview here. 

Students will choose three or four subjects from the following:

Subject

Head of Department Contact Detail
Art & Design - Fine Art*
Mr GL Piggottglp@kes.hants.sch.uk
Art & Design - Photography*
Mr GL Piggottglp@kes.hants.sch.uk
Biology
Mr ST Aellen sta@kes.hants.sch.uk
Business*
Mr P Sheppardps@kes.hants.sch.uk
Chemistry
Miss LA Downinglad@kes.hants.sch.uk

Classics - Latin

Mrs JM Meredithjmm@kes.hants.sch.uk

Classical Civilisation

Mrs JM Meredithjmm@kes.hants.sch.uk

Computer Science*

Mr PJ Mapstonepjm@kes.hants.sch.uk
Design and Technology*
Mr SH Barkershb@kes.hants.sch.uk

Drama & Theatre Studies*

Mrs LA Gilmourlag@kes.hants.sch.uk

Economics*

Mr P Sheppardps@kes.hants.sch.uk

English Language

Mrs HK Arnoldhka@kes.hants.sch.uk
English Literature
Dr AJ Schofieldajs@kes.hants.sch.uk
FrenchMrs KM Clement kmc@kes.hants.sch.uk
Geography Mrs LJ Gibbs ljg@kes.hants.sch.uk
GermanMiss MJ Gorbatmjg@kes.hants.sch.uk
History Mr NJ Diver njd@kes.hants.sch.uk
Maths and Further Mathematics - see note 3 Mr GA Eyssensgae@kes.hants.sch.uk
MusicMiss CE Forseycef@kes.hants.sch.uk
Philosophy Mrs CA Lanecal@kes.hants.sch.uk
Physics Mr RS Simmrss@kes.hants.sch.uk
Politics*Mr RK Potterrkp@kes.hants.sch.uk
Psychology*Ms HM Smith hms@kes.hants.sch.uk
SpanishMrs EM Ladislaoeml@kes.hants.sch.uk
Sport Science Mrs C Kelly ck@kes.hants.sch.uk

NOTES:

1. You may study the subjects marked * whether or not you have taken them as GCSE courses. It may be helpful to talk to the head of department about such a choice

2. Further Mathematics is only to be chosen as a fourth full A level and must be combined with Mathematics. By choosing it you are committing yourself to following Route 2 and taking four subjects in the Upper Sixth.

4. The availability of subjects is dependent on sufficient uptake, and the School reserves the right to make such amendments as necessary, in response to demand and in the light of practical considerations. We cannot guarantee that all subject combinations will be available.

Sixth Form Resources:

For information regarding the Sixth Form, the Curriculum and FAQs please follow this link.

For information about applying to the Sixth Form, please follow this link.

For information about the transition from school to the Sixth Form, please follow this link.

See also our Sixth Form Guide 2021-2022, displayed below.