Established in 1554 the school has a rich history which is only touched on here.It has been sited infour locations within the city of Southampton.
1554 - 1696: Winkle Street
1696 - 1896: Bugle Street
|1896 - 1938: Havelock Road, Marlands|
The next move to the prestigious building at Havelock Road (in the Marlands area of Southampton) in 1896 resulted in pupil numbers increasing to over one hundred. A school Cadet Corps existed during the First World War.
1938 - 1939: Wilton Road, Hill Lane
Purpose-built school buildings were constructed at Hill Lane, and were occupied in the summer of 1938.
1939 - 1945: Evacuation to Poole Grammar School
The whole school was evacuated to Poole and the Kellett Road building was occupied by the British Army during the Second World War. Poole Veterans 1935-1945 (edited by John Guilmant) is a collection of letters and memoirs published by the Southampton Old Edwardians Association, 2000.
1945 to date: Hill Lane
A 'New' History of King Edward VI School for 2004
The Governors commissioned the then Head of History at KES, Mr. G.T. Darby to write a new history of the school to commemorate the 450th anniversary of its founding.It was published in 2004.
Old Edwardians' Association Publication:King Edward VI School Southampton in the Twentieth Century
John R. Rowthorn, Old Edwardian 1939-1946, has written "King Edward VI School Southampton in the Twentieth Century". The Old Edwardians' Association published this book, subject to demand, in 2003. It recalls the events of the century, recounts day-to-day activities and introduces some of the personalities, masters and boys, who were involved.